Thu, 20 Jun 2019

MS Dhoni-led India make five changes; Afghanistan bat

25 Sep 2018, 21:42 GMT+10

3:00 AM ET

Toss: Afghanistan chose to bat v India

playESPN Shorts: Mohammad ShahzadCan this heavy-hitter help cause some upsets in the Asia Cup?

After having given up India's limited-overs captaincy in January this year, MS Dhoni took it back from the rested Rohit Sharma in the inconsequential ODI against Afghanistan in the Asia Cup in Dubai. India were asked to bowl in Dhoni's 200th ODI as captain and first as captain since October 2016.

India had already progressed to the Asia Cup final, while Afghanistan had been put out of contention following back-to-back losses, albeit narrow ones, in the Super Four stage.

Apart from Rohit, his opening partner Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal were also rested ahead of the final. Rajasthan's bowling allrounder Deepak Chahar made his ODI debut, while KL Rahul got his first match of the tournament, and was listed to open along with Ambati Rayudu.

Chahar's state-mate Khaleel Ahmed returned to the side, after having helped India survive a scare from Hong Kong in their tournament opener. Karnataka batsman Manish Pandey and Punjab quick Siddarth Kaul also got their first games of the tournament.

Afghanistan made two changes, with Najibullah Zadran and Javed Ahmadi replacing Samiullah Shenwari and Ihsanullah

India: KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni(capt &wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Siddarth Kaul, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed

Afghanistan: Mohammad Shahzad(wk), Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan(capt), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Aftab Alam, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

More Afghanistan News

Access More

Sign up for Afghanistan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!